weepingintodancing

Overcoming Difficult Trials

THE ARMOR OF CHRIST WILL PROTECT YOU

PUT ON THE ARMOR OF CHRIST

Right after brain surgery, my old nasty habit of WORRY reared her ugly head. She was relentless.

“Will you be able to properly see again like before?” “Will you have to live in assisted living from now on?” “Will you be able to work and support your family?” “Will your brain be able to build new synapses and recover speech and memory? “Will you be moving back to your beloved Oregon or will the Lord insist on moving you to Colorado?”

Then the HORRIBLE WHY’S arrived….

“Why did I have to get a brain tumor?” “Why did I have to deal with a unkind nurse and her supervisor 3 days after surgery?”
“Why couldn’t I keep my Bubba? “ (100 lb. Golden Lab) “Why did the pieces of my life have to crumble to dust?” “Why didn’t You let me die and come home to eternity?

Finally the ACCUSER stuck his finger in the pot…
“You will never recover completely.” “You are a burden to your parents.” “You will never find a job you like.” “You will never make new friends.” “Life is too hard so just give up.”

Dear Reader, Worry will not get you anything except insomnia! Whys are for the Lord alone to answer and He might not choose to give a reason….. it is His right to keep silent if He wants. This requires trust on our part and a lot of faith.As far as the lies the accuser sends your way, learn to put on the Spiritual Armor of Christ. By wearing it, you will send satan’s accusations straight to the ground.

Ephesians 6:10-18 (NIV)
The Armor of God
Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

I tried to memorize these verses but came up with a prayer including some of this wonderful scripture. I dress myself from the top down.

Dear Lord,

Please dress me in the Spiritual Armor of Christ that I might fight the good fight today. Grant me the Helmet of Salvation so that my thoughts are Your thoughts. May I have the Breastplate of Righteousness and may it guard my heart from satan’s fiery darts. Help me to wear the Belt of Truth. I know it is impossible for You to lie and I want to share in this truth. May the Sandals of Peace direct my steps and the Shield of Faith protect me from every Snare. Finally Lord, grant me Your sharp sword, which is the Living Word. May it cut away the deceit of the evil one. Amen.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment